FIBA Basketball World Cup past winners list

THE FIBA Basketball World Cup has a long and storied history. It was first played in 1950 and is due to next be played in China in 2019. The below table highlights the past winners, runners-up and third place-getters since the tournament was first held. Our table also lists the host country for each Basketball World Cup, which is a quadrennial event.

.tg {border-collapse:collapse;border-spacing:0;border-color:#9ABAD9;}
.tg td{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;border-color:#9ABAD9;color:#444;background-color:#EBF5FF;}
.tg th{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;font-weight:normal;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;border-color:#9ABAD9;color:#fff;background-color:#409cff;}
.tg .tg-0pky{border-color:inherit;text-align:left;vertical-align:top}
.tg .tg-0lax{text-align:left;vertical-align:top}

Year Gold Silver Bronze Host country
2019 ?? ?? ?? China
2014 USA Serbia France Spain
2010 USA Turkey Lithuania Turkey
2006 Spain Greece USA Japan
2002 FR of Yugoslavia Argentina Germany USA
1998 FR of Yugoslavia Russia USA Greece
1994 USA Russia Croatia Canada
1990 Yugoslavia Soviet Union USA Argentina
1986 USA Soviet Union Yugoslavia Spain
1982 Soviet Union USA Yugoslavia Colombia
1978 Yugoslavia Soviet Union Brazil Philippines
1974 Soviet Union Yugoslavia USA Puerto Rico
1970 Yugoslavia Brazil Soviet Union Yugoslavia
1967 Soviet Union Yugoslavia Brazil Uruguay
1963 Brazil Yugoslavia Soviet Union Brazil
1959 Brazil USA Chile Chile
1954 USA Brazil Philippines Brazil
1950 Argentina USA Chile Argentina

FIBA World Cup past results

This section will highlight recent FIBA Basketball World Cup results in more detail, while if you’re looking for more information about wagering on basketball, our basketball betting guide will help you out.

2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup – China

The 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup is due to be played in China from August 31 until September 15, with the USA short-priced favourites to win a third successive crown. Serbia, Spain, Greece and Australia are also in the mix, according to leading basketball bookies.

2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup

The 2014 edition of the FIBA Basketball World Cup was played in Spain and featured the USA and Serbia in the final, with the powerful United States team winning every game they played at the tournament. Remarkably the USA had an average winning margin of 32.5 points up until the final, when they turned it up another gear, defeating Serbia 129-92. Team USA went into the tournament as short-priced favourites to win the tournament, despite missing LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Paul George, Carmelo Anthony and Chris Paul from their best team.

Universally regarded as one of the most dominant performances at a FIBA Basketball World Cup, the USA’s 2014 team were almost as dominant as the 1992 and 1996 Dream Teams, which won the gold at both Olympics with average winning margins of 43.8 and 31.8 points. The victory also qualified Team USA for the 2016 Olympic Games, where they won gold, defeating Serbia.