Player of the Tournament betting – ICC World Cup

Betting on who will be player of the tournament at the ICC World Cup, an event held every four years, is certain to be hugely popular.

It is a great type of cricket bet to take if you wish to add a little extra spice to the entire tournament, as almost every match will provide input into the possible overall result.

The ICC 50-over World Cup starts at the end of May in England and Wales. We look at the early betting on who will be named player of the tournament and, hopefully, offer some insight into who will take the mantle this time around.

Our guide to betting on cricket
2019 ICC World Cup betting guide
2019 World Cup top wicket-takers betting
2019 World Cup top run-scorers betting

Best bookmakers for betting on World Cup player of series

All the best cricket betting site worth its salt will be offering multiple markets on tournament-long outcomes for this ICC World Cup, though not all may offer betting on the player of the tournament.

People in most countries involved in the tournament and many not involved will be able to watch most of if not all the matches, though not all online bookmakers accept players from every country.

Here at the World Gambling List we have bookmakers we favour when we turn to betting on cricket. These are safe and respected betting sites and if you are betting with any of the following you will be paid out without any problem if you are lucky enough to find a winner at the 2019 ICC World Cup:

Sports Interaction

100% up to $125


100% Bonus + 100 Free Spins

Leo Vegas

$200 + 100 Spins

4. betting online

100% match deposit

5. betting review

Various promotions!

Year founded: 1934

6. review

100% up to €100 + €10 Free Bet!

Player of the tournaments from previous ICC World Cups

Each of the 10 competing nations has submitted their squad of 15 players but can make changes to that squad up until May 22.

Regardless, that means there are 150 possible winners of the player of the series award. We may be able to narrow that number down significantly simply by looking at the past winners of the award and their performances in the tournament.

Player of the series was first awarded in the 1992 tournament in Australia and New Zealand when the imperious Kiwi batsman Martin Crowe took the honours.

But in the seven previous winners it has been a fairly even split between bat and ball, with two titles going to batsmen (Crowe, Sachin Tendulkar), two to bowlers (Glenn McGrath, Mitchell Starc), and three to “all-rounders” (Sanath Jayasuriya, Lance Klusener, Yuvraj Singh).

.tftable {font-size:12px;color:#333333;width:100%;border-width: 1px;border-color: #729ea5;border-collapse: collapse;}
.tftable th {font-size:12px;background-color:#acc8cc;border-width: 1px;padding: 8px;border-style: solid;border-color: #729ea5;text-align:left;}
.tftable tr {background-color:#d4e3e5;}
.tftable td {font-size:12px;border-width: 1px;padding: 8px;border-style: solid;border-color: #729ea5;}
.tftable tr:hover {background-color:#ffffff;}

Year Player (country) Stats Team’s position Host/s
1992 Martin Crowe (New Zealand) 456 runs at 114.0 Semi-finals Aus, NZ
1996 Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 221 runs at 36.83, 7 wickets at 33.00 Champions Pak, Ind, SL
1999 Lance Klusener (South Africa) 281 runs at 140.50, 17 wickets at 20.58 Semi-finals Eng, Wal
2003 Sachin Tendulkar (India) 673 runs at 61.18, 2 wickets at 38.50 Runners-up Sth Af
2007 Glenn McGrath (Australia) 26 wickets at 13.73 Champions W Indies
2011 Yuvraj Singh (India) 362 runs at 90.50, 15 wickets at 25.13 Champions Ind, SL, Bang
2015 Mitchell Starc (Australia) 22 wickets at 10.18 Champions Aus, NZ
2019 Kane Williamson (New Zealand) 578 runs at 82.57, 2 wickets at 32.00 Runners-up Eng, Wales

Player of the series tips for ICC World Cup

Go with the strength: A quick look at the above table reveals the winner of the player of the series award will probably play in one of the stronger teams. More than half the winners have played in the team that has gone on to win the ICC 50 over World Cup. It makes sense, of course. If a team is on a winning streak, at least a few of its players must be doing well.

All-rounders rule: It comes as no surprise to anyone that all-rounders have a great chance of being player of the tournament. But you need to look for the all-rounders who can genuinely be their team’s best batsman or bowler on the day. Not one who is good for a quick-fire 20 and then be capable of holding down an end when it comes time to bowl. You want the all-rounders capable of making a ton or chipping in with three or more wickets. Someone who can stand out from the crowd.

Top-order batsmen: With the bat tipped to rule over the ball in this 2019 ICC World Cup, the first four batsman in the order will have great chances to string together some serious scores in the preliminary rounds. So even better, look for an all-rounder who will get their 10 overs bowling every match and will get a chance near the top of the order. No use having your player sitting in the pavilion and only getting a crack in the last few overs when quick runs are required and bigger risks must be taken.