List of South Australian horse racing tracks

Morphettville is the most well-known horse racing track in South Australia, although the state has many other great tracks, despite several of the more prominent ones no longer hosting thoroughbred races.

For a long time in South Australia the main horse racing meetings were held at Cheltenham, Victoria Park and, of course, Morphettville. However in 2007 the South Australian Jockey Club sold Cheltenham land for $85 million to a housing development.

Initially this money was going to be used to upgrade Victoria Park but horse racing was forced out when the authorities refused to upgrade the facilities. Instead the South Australian Jockey Club moved its headquarters to Morphettville and a newly streamlined racing program was introduced in the state, with just one active metro track.

The “second” track in South Australia is probably Gawler, which on a good day, is about 50 minutes drive from the centre of Adelaide.

Full list of South Australian horse racing tracks

Balaklava Race Track
Balaklava, South Australia
Clare Race Track
Clare, South Australia
Gawler Race Track
Gawler, South Australia
Morphettville Race Track
Morphettville, South Australia
Morphettville Parks Race Track
Adelaide, South Australia

Mt Gambier Race Track
Mt Gambier, South Australia
Murray Bridge Race Track
Murray Bridge, South Australia
Naracoorte Race Track
Naracoorte, South Australia
Penola Race Track
Penola, South Australia
Port Augusta Race Track
Port Augusta, South Australia

Port Lincoln Race Track
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Pirie Race Track
Port Pirie, South Australia
Strathalbyn Race Track
Strathalbyn, South Australia
Closed SA Tracks
Victoria Park Race Track
Victoria Park, South Australia
Cheltenham Race Track
Cheltenham, South Australia

What tracks host group racing in South Australia

Morphettville is the only horse racing track in SA that hosts group racing. In total the state has four group 1 races with these headlined by two million dollar races — The Goodwood and the UBET Classic — which are both raced in May.

In total Morphettville is scheduled to host 18 group races in 2019 (4 group 1s; 3 group 2s; 11 group 3s)

What tracks host listed racing in South Australia

Of course Morphettville again hosts a lot of the listed races in South Australia, however there are some other tracks in the state that do hold these types of feature races. The other tracks in South Australia to hold listed horse racing are Balaklava, Murray Bridge and Oakbank. The second track at Morphettville, known as Morphettville Park or “The Parks”, also hosts several listed races throughout the year.