Indian Premier League 2019: the action begins


The world’s most popular Twenty20 tournament, the Indian Premier League, kicks off this weekend, with a single match on Saturday and a double-header on Sunday.
The IPL boasts many of the world’s best short-format players; this tournament also marks the return to mainstream action of disgraced Australian superstars Steve Smith and David Warner.

Also read:
Guide to the Indian Premier League
Guide to the ICC World Cup 2019
Betting on cricket

Smith and Warner were banned for a year for their part in the infamous ball-tampering affair in South Africa.
All eyes will be on the pair as they attempt to press their cases for inclusion in the Australian team for the upcoming ICC World Cup.
Warner has twice been the leading run-scorer in the IPL and is in action for Sunrisers Hyderabad on Sunday.
The Sunrisers are the early favourites for the title thanks to a powerful batting line-up spearheaded by Warner and Kiwi stars Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill. Williamson was the leading run-scorer in the IPL in 2018 with 735.
Smith’s Rajasthan Royals, captain by Ajinkya Rahane, play their first match on Monday against King’s XI Punjab, who boast power hitter Chris Gayle at the top of the order.

Betting on the 2019 IPL

Any sports bookmaker worth its salt will be providing multiple markets on each individual match, while there are also many options if you want to wager on season-long propositions.
Just some of the markets provided by leading cricket bookmaker Bet365 include:

  • Outright market on who will win the IPL 2019
  • Leading run-scorer in IPL 2019
  • Leading wicket-taker in IPL 2019
  • Player of the tournament
  • Top batsman and top bowler at each team
  • Player to hit the most sixes
  • Team to hit the most sixes
  • Team to score the highest innings total

There is even a market on whether any player will manage to hit six sixes in an over. At $21 we don’t think that is value!

2019 Indian Premier League fixture

* The announcement of the complete 2019 IPL draw was delayed by the Indian elections which start in April. The final fixture was released this week.

March 23: Chennai Super Kings v Royal Challengers Bangalore
March 24: Kolkata Knight Riders v Sunrisers Hyderabad; Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals
March 25: Rajasthan Royals v Kings XI Punjab
March 26: Delhi Capitals v Chennai Super Kings
March 27: Kolkata Knight Riders v Kings XI Punjab
March 28: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Mumbai Indians
March 29: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Rajasthan Royals
March 30: Kings XI Punjab v Mumbai Indians; Delhi Capitals v Kolkata Knight Riders
March 31: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers Bangalore; Chennai Super Kings v Rajasthan Royals
April 1: Kings XI Punjab v Delhi Capitals
April 2: Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 3: Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings
April 4: Delhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 5: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 6: Chennai Super Kings v Kings XI Punjab; Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians
April 7: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Capitals; Rajasthan Royals v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 8: Kings XI Punjab v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 9: Chennai Super Kings v Kolkata Knight Riders
April 10: Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab
April 11: Rajasthan Royals v Chennai Super Kings
April 12: Kolkata Knight Riders v Delhi Capitals
April 13: Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals; Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 14: Kolkata Knight Riders v Chennai Super Kings; Sunrisers Hyderabad v Delhi Capitals
April 15: Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 16: Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals
April 17: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Chennai Super Kings
April 18: Delhi Capitals v Mumbai Indians
April 19: Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers Bangalore
April 20: Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians; Delhi Capitals v Kings XI Punjab
April 21: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight Riders; Royal Challengers Bangalore
v Chennai Super Kings
April 22: Rajasthan Royals v Delhi Capitals
April 23: Chennai Super Kings v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 24: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab
April 25: Kolkata Knight Riders v Rajasthan Royals
April 26: Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians
April 27: Rajasthan Royals v Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 28: Delhi Capitals v Royal Challengers Bangalore; Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians
April 29: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kings XI Punjab
April 30: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Rajasthan Royals
May 1: Chennai Super Kings v Delhi Capitals
May 2: Mumbai Indians v Sunrisers Hyderabad
May 3: Kings XI Punjab v Kolkata Knight Riders
May 4: Delhi Capitals v Rajasthan Royals; Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad
May 5: Kings XI Punjab v Chennai Super Kings; Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders

Relevant news

Comment - No Login Required

Notify of