Ashes man of the series betting predictions and best bets 2019

England vs Australia - 1st Ashes Test predictions

England captain Joe Root is the bookmakers’ favourite at around $6.50 to be named player of the series in the 2019 Ashes.
Root stands head and shoulders above his fellow English batsman as far as Test averages go and if England regain the Ashes there is little doubt the quiet Yorkshireman will have had a big say in proceedings.
He is expected to move up the batting order to No.3 so may well face the full fury of the Australian opening bowlers, but he is a top-class player of all forms of bowling.

Guide to Ashes betting 2019
Best cricket betting sites
Ashes First Test preview
Leading Ashes run-scorer betting

Bowlers are tipped to dominate this series thanks to the use of an older-style Duke’s ball with a pronounced seam and expected enticing conditions for swing and seam bowling.
The table below includes recent winners of the Ashes man-of-the-series, and it is clear that it takes a special performance to win this honour.
Who can forget the dominance of Steve Smith in the 2018-19 Ashes series in Australia when he compiled 687 runs; or the fearsome bowling of Mitchell Johnson in 2013-14; or Andrew Flintoff’s heroics in the memorable win in 2005.
Cricket is among our favourite sports at the WGL and we have come up with who we think are the leading contenders to be player of the series and also who we recommend betting on with some of our most trusted bookies.
Below is the latest betting from leading British bookmaker William Hill.

For full odds visit the William Hill website or if you are in Australia, Beteasy will carry similar prices.

Betting on man of the series in 2019 Ashes

Joe Root $6.5
Ben Stokes $7
Steve Smith $7.5
David Warner $10
James Anderson $11
Mitchell Starc $13
Pat Cummins $13
Jason Roy $15
Jonny Bairstow $15
Rory Burns $17
Marcus Harris $17
Usman Khawaja $17
Jofra Archer $17
Jos Buttler $17
Sam Curran $17
Moeen Ali $17
Travis Head $21
Josh Hazlewood $21
Chris Woakes $21
Marnus Labuschagne $26
Nathan Lyon $26
Joe Denly $34
Kurtis Patterson $34
Olly Stone $34
Mitchell Marsh $34
Tim Paine $34
Stuart Broad $34
Peter Siddle $51
Mark Wood $67
James Pattinson $67

Our short-list for Ashes player of the series

Joe Root (England, $6.50):
As mentioned above, if England are to win we think it will be Root who steers them home.

Ben Stokes (England, $7):
A genuine double threat, Stokes is now a world-class batsman and could find conditions to suit with the ball. Throw in the fact he’s a brilliant fieldsman and also has a habit of playing well against Australia and he is easily the all-rounder in this series who is most likely to shine.

David Warner (Australia, $10): Just continues to amaze with how well he has stood up to immense scrutiny since his return from a one-year ban for his part in the ball-tampering scandal. He is the ultimate scrapped and will probably appreciate the return to Test conditions where his aggressive approach stands out and makes him a match-winner.

Stuart Broad (England, $34): We have tipped Broad elsewhere as likely leading wicket-taker for England and the other thing going for him is he is a really useful batsman. If things go as expected he might be called upon to play some vital innings. He has in common with Stokes and Warner plenty of fighting spirit, or mongrel as they would call it Down Under.

Marcus Harris (Australia, $17): Might be a surprise selection here but Harris reminds us a little of when Mark Taylor arrived in England largely unheralded and proceeded to rack up big numbers. Harris is a really compact and classy player. He will need to be!

Pat Cummins (Australia, $13):
A little bit in the Broad mould in that he almost qualifies as an all-rounder and can certainly be a crucial player in this much-anticipated Ashes series. A real leader in this Australian team.

WGL tips for player of the series

The players we are most keen on investing our hard-earned cash on for this series are Ben Stokes for England and David Warner for Australia. We are keen to have something on one player from each team given that it’s highly likely the man of the series will be playing for the winning team. This way, we hopefully will have someone in the mix whatever the series result.
Be sure to check the William Hill website before placing your bets as they may well have some of these players among their enhanced odds offering.

Results of the past 10 Ashes series

.tftable {font-size:12px;color:#333333;width:100%;border-width: 1px;border-color: #729ea5;border-collapse: collapse;}
.tftable th {font-size:12px;background-color:#acc8cc;border-width: 1px;padding: 8px;border-style: solid;border-color: #729ea5;text-align:left;}
.tftable tr {background-color:#d4e3e5;}
.tftable td {font-size:12px;border-width: 1px;padding: 8px;border-style: solid;border-color: #729ea5;}
.tftable tr:hover {background-color:#ffffff;}

Year Winners Result No of Tests Host Player of series
2001 Australia 4-1 5 England Mark Butcher, Glenn McGrath
2002-03 Australia 4-1 5 Australia Michael Vaughan
2005 England 2-1 5 England Andrew Flintoff*, Shane Warne
2006-07 Australia 5-0 5 Australia Ricky Ponting*
2009 England 2-1 5 England Andrew Strauss*, Michael Clarke
2010-11 England 3-1 5 Australia Alastair Cook*
2013 England 3-0 5 England Ian Bell*, Ryan Harris
2013-14 Australia 5-0 5 Australia Mitchell Johnson*
2015 England 3-2 5 England Joe Root*, Chris Rogers
2017-18 Australia 4-0 5 Australia Steve Smith*

* Compton-Miller Medal winner (started in 2005)

Relevant news

Comment - No Login Required

Notify of