AFL Rising Star Award betting 2021

AFL Rising Star betting is available soon after the National Draft each year, with it awarded to the player adjudged the best young talent in the game. AFL Rising betting is available at many of the top online bookmakers in Australia, with these betting sites having markets on both the outright winner and who will get the most votes on each team. Our AFL Rising Star betting guide will run you through the various aspects: What is the Rising Star? How is the Rising Star awarded? and of course the latest odds for the 2021 AFL Rising Star Award.

The best AFL bookmakers with Rising Star markets includes:


Willing to take on the big Punters!

Visit! Visit!

Australia's Best Fixed Odds Bookmaker!

Visit! Visit!

Get Group 1 Odds With Unibet Australia!

Visit! Visit!

Top bookmakers with AFL Rising Star betting

Australia has some of the top online betting sites in world wagering available to them, with their sports betting market among the most competitive in the world. Most Australian bookmakers, unless they are catering to a niche like esports or greyhound racing, will have AFL betting markets, with this domestic sport probably the no.1 game down under.

AFL betting sites will have extensive odds available to customers on the Rising Star and other important awards like the league best-and-fairest award the Brownlow Medal. Depending on which AFL Rising Star bookmaker you are betting with will determine the depth in markets. For instance, some betting sites may only have outright winner markets available on the Rising Star, while others will allow you to wager on who will get most votes in each team.

Betting with Australian online bookmakers is a straight-forward process and possible to begin doing within a few minutes. AFL bookmakers that are legal will have licensing from a state gambling regulator in Australia and a partnership as a gambling partner of the AFL. This means things like the bet types available surrounding the Rising Star will be approved by the AFL’s integrity unit.

Recommended bookies for AFL Rising Star betting

AFL Rising Star 2021 odds

AFL Rising Star odds are available on the 2021 edition of the award, with most Australian betting sites having them live now, despite the interrupted AFL season.

Melbourne young gun Luke Jackson is the $1.15 favourite to win the award after a stunning season, that has seen him develop into an exciting ruck-forward.

GWS midfielder Tom Green is the only other player to attract significant betting interest, priced at $5, as he seeks to become the first Giants player to get the nod.

What is the AFL Rising Star?

This annual award is presented to one of the best young players in the Australian Football League and has become highly valued thanks to the quality of the recipients.

From inaugural winner Nathan Buckley in 1993 to the likes of Sydney’s Adam Goodes, St Kilda’s Nick Riewoldt and Hawthorn’s Sam Mitchell, it has heralded in champions of the game. Indeed, three of the winners of this award, Buckley, Goodes and Ben Cousins, have gone on to take the highest individual award in the game, the Brownlow medal.

It has been a popular addition to futures betting on the AFL season, with fans keen to back their judgement on which youngsters are about to burst on to the scene.

And, as our table below shows, unlike the Brownlow Medal, this award is not all about the midfielders, though they have still taken most honours.

How the Rising Star Award winner is decided

Unlike the Brownlow Medal, which is decided by voting from the umpires, the result of the Rising Star is decided by a panel of nine AFL experts (well, administrators and former players anyway).To qualify for the Rising Star Award a player must be:

  • Under the age of 21 as at January 1 in the year of the award; and
  • Have played 10 or fewer senior AFL matches at the start of that season.

After each round of AFL action, one youngster from across the league is nominated for the award. A player who has been suspended during the season can be nominated but is ineligible to win the overall award.

Come the end of the season, the nine-person panel of experts will award their votes on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis for their top five picks from the pool of nominees.

The player with the most votes after this process is the winner and joins a list of past and future legends of the game.

Rising Star Award winners plus position played

Our AFL Rising Star Award winners list features all past winners of the best young player gong, including the team they played for, their position, total games played and goals scored. Our AFL betting tips page often has insight into the current season and the potential winners of the Rising Star award.

YearWinner (club)TeamPositionTotal gamesTotal goals
2020Caleb SerongFremantleMidfielder14*2
2019Sam WalshCarltonMidfielder39*14
2018Jaidyn StephensonCollingwoodForward/mid54*76
2017Andrew McGrathEssendonDefender/mid78*15
2016Callum MillsSydneyDefender78*3
2015Jesse HoganMelbourneKey forward90*170
2014Lewis TaylorBrisbaneMidfielder112*88
2013Jaeger O’MearaGold CoastMidfielder104*56
2012Daniel TaliaAdelaideKey defender200*6
2011Dyson HeppellEssendonMidfielder172*60
2010Daniel HanneberySydneyMidfielder221*99
2009Daniel RichBrisbane LionsMidfielder215*107
2008Rhys PalmerFremantleMidfielder12395
2007Joel SelwoodGeelongMidfielder310*162
2006Danyle PearcePort AdelaideMidfielder258127
2005Brett DeledioRichmondUtility275197
2004Jared RiversMelbourneDefender19418
2003Sam MitchellHawthornMidfielder32971
2002Nick RiewoldtSt KildaKey forward336718
2001Justin KoschitzkeSt KildaRuck/forward200247
2000Paul HaslebyFremantleMidfielder208131
1999Adam GoodesSydneyUtility372464
1998Byron PickettNorth MelbourneMidfielder/defender204177
1997Michael WilsonPort AdelaideMidfielder/defender19251
1996Ben CousinsWest CoastMidfielder270217
1995Nick HollandHawthornKey position179239
1994Chris ScottBrisbane BearsDefender21579
1993Nathan BuckleyBrisbane BearsMidfielder280284

* Active players at start of 2021 season